MenuMania has been acquired by Zomato. Read more about it here.

We are hiring.

On a mobile device? Try our mobile site, optimized for faster browsing.

Recent Restaurants Reviews Near Auckland City

241 to 260 of 350

4 weeks ago

Whina

Auckland City

1

Ponsonby

2 star rating
 05/07/2014

Underwhelming. Good vibe, nice surroundings etc but that just made the lack luster service and average food even more apparent. Granted it was a busy night however i ordered a simple diet coke at the beginning of the night and despite asking for it repeatedly (3 times) still did not get it by the end of the night. Also had to request to see the dessert menu 2 times then waited 20 minutes for someone to take our order before we got fed up and walked inside to find someone to take our order. Pork buns were awesome compared to everything else we ordered which lacked flavour.

4 weeks ago

Casey

Auckland City

1

Kingsland

5 star rating
 05/07/2014

Really enjoyed our lunch at Le Garde-Manger. The food was beautiful (and really reasonably priced), staff were professional and friendly, lovely atmosphere, and we wanted to order everything on the menu! The new owners are doing a great job. We’ll be back!

4 weeks ago

alan

Auckland City

2

Newmarket

3 star rating
 05/07/2014

Food pretty good, tasty, quickly served, and of reasonable quality. Not quite authentic Louisiana but perfectly passable. At this stage good value. For a place that bills its self as Louisiana you might have thought they would have known today is the 4th of July and therefore independence day but to the disappointment of my American partner they didn’t. Instead we got drunk loud people yelling at the rugby which is fine in a pub but I was a little surprised to find it hear. I’d go back – but its a good average rather than a 4 or 5 star place for me.

4 weeks ago

Katherine N.

Auckland City

1

Ponsonby

2 star rating
 04/07/2014

The food at Mekong baby is delicious, I’ve been there 3 times and have loved it each time. It is tasty & well cooked and you can’t really go wrong! The manager’s service however is severely lacking, in contrast the waiters were great. I’ll give you the main points on my latest experience below: - Upon arriving for my booking of 12 people I requested an extra seat for one more last minute person. The manager told me that he didn’t have any seats (period) then just looked at me as if I should make the 13th person disappear. Only after I suggested I turn my guests away did he then run upstairs and get another seat within 30 seconds, I guess he did have more seats. - After this (before eating) I spoke with the manager about splitting the bill & the refund of my $200 booking deposit. He advised that splitting was no problem and I would receive my $200 refund at the end of the meal. - When we did go to split the bill, suddenly the manager treated us like this was the most difficult thing he’d ever have to do & we were being a major pain in the ass for him. In my experience managing POS systems, this is not difficult at all, it is called customer service. - The same manager allowed us to split the bill, but refused to refund my $200 because it was too difficult. He advised that my credit card details were on file (why was my payment information being stored for future use without my knowledge?!) and he would arrange a refund on the upcoming tuesday in 4 days because it was ‘all too difficult’ for him. - The following friday, I had not received my refund so called Mekong Baby. The person I spoke with said she was aware of my case, took my CC details again, told me that they were not being held on file and promised an immediate refund. However she neglected to explain why no one had called me to arrange my refund after it was not processed as promised. I guess they go by the ethos ‘you win some, you win some’ or ‘finders keepers’. - Once again the next Wednesday I had still not received my refund and called back. This woman was more apologetic but really just wanted me off the phone, I actually think it was the same person I had already spoken with. After giving my CC details to her another time she promised the refund would go through. I made her email a copy of the receipt through because I was sick of their false promises. Overall, the managers & admin staff give this eatery a callous impression and by the end of it, I was left chasing them for 2 weeks to get my money back. This is really unacceptable and I fear a less persistent person than myself would have been $200 poorer for having eaten there. In addition, they are very willy-nilly with people’s sensitive credit card information. This should be taken securely & processed immediately. Not written down or stored for any purpose, I get the impression that my details are scrawled on 3 post-it notes lying around their restaurant for all to see. This restaurant has the potential to be great if only they would become upfront, real & reasonable people instead of the lazy and rude staff I found them to be. I understand that a booking of 12 people can be quite a handful so I tried to clear everything with them beforehand, but they just moved the goalposts when it became too difficult. This was a special event for our families to celebrate a milestone but unfortunately I’m left thinking about the deficiencies of Mekong Baby, rather than the lovely meal shared with family & friends.

4 weeks ago

Marcus

Auckland City

1

Mt Eden

2 star rating
 04/07/2014

Very disappointed as was hoping the new Mt Eden store to reflect the original that was on Ponsonby Rd a couple of years back. The Mt Eden shop lacks character, seating arrangement is poor and it was cold sitting near the door. It is a very awkward space with nowhere for people to wait for takeaway orders. Burger patties were good but just stock standard burger buns that looked like they had been defrosted from the freezer. I ordered chips and drink to make it a combo for an additional $5.50. Then informed it was an additional $2 if I wanted a bottle from the fridge instead of a refill cup from the postmix machine. This made it an additional $7.50 for a combo on top of the burger price. It is overpriced for what it is. Nothing wrong with the food as such but it is not a premium product. If I go back it will be phone order so I don’t have to wait around and can eat in the comfort of my home and have a beer

4 weeks ago

Damian

Auckland City

2

Auckland Central

4 star rating
 04/07/2014

This restaurant has an A food rating. I’d read about Pok Pok online and the menu hooked me. From the outside looking in, the restaurant looks fairly nondescript, just like any other eatery on K Rd. Walked in off the street with my wife. We were asked if we had a booking, which we hadn’t, but the waiter directed us to the small table for two. It was perfect because it was right next to the gas heater and closest to the bar/kitchen. First impressions: Cosy. There are several seats at tables, with a cushioned bench seat along one wall. I estimate enough seating for around 20 people. The chairs are green plastic, a step up from your garden variety but comfortable enough for me to sit in for over an hour. The restaurant was empty until we entered which usually gives me reason to wonder why. Decor: The decor was minimalist. I noticed one oil painting depicting Buddha on the wall. Two speakers on opposite corners of the restaurant played out modern music at a conversational level. The bar was well appointed with a dedicated bar manager. The men’s toilet was basic, no urinal, but very clean. Service: Our waiter was friendly, polite and fairly efficient. All staff were well presented in black attire. Our drinks (I had a glass of Chang beer) were brought to our table promptly as we waited for our meal. The waiter was always visible, stationing himself beside the nearby bar ready to tend to patrons. Our meal was served within 15 minutes of ordering. Food: We’d read the menu several times beforehand so we knew what we were going to order before we sat down. We’d decided to go with a selection of different entrees and one main. Priced quite reasonably, each entree costs between $8 and $10. Portion sizes of the entrees was good, 2 to 3 pieces each with garnish salads and sauces. The presentation of each dish was great. No two dishes looked the same. The entrees we ordered were the Coconut Soft Shell Crab, Crispy Duck Spring Rolls, Caramelised Pork Belly, Crispy Curry Puff and the Miang of Seared Tuna. The mains dish we ordered was the Pad Thai Prawn. The pork belly was good. The meat was a little tough on the outside but easy to pull. The skin was crisp and not too heavy with fat. What made this dish great overall was the sauce. The curry puffs were tasty. The difference with these puffs is they contain kumara instead of potato. The sauce was a little thick and sticky for my liking – I prefer a more liquid sauce but that’s just my preference. The miang of seared tuna was a pleasant surprise for me. I have no idea what miang means. I was expecting a small tuna steak seared on the grill. What I was presented with looked like a tuna salad served on individual lettuce pockets. The taste though, was superb. I love coriander to start with, and this dish had the flavour of it in spades. Mixed with lemon or lime juice and other flavours, I really enjoyed it. The tuna flesh was definitely not like your typical canned tuna from the supermarket, although you could be forgiven for thinking it looked like it. The soft shell crab was quite different. Battered and deep fried served with a bean sprout salad in coconut mayonnaise. I have to say I was disappointed in this dish, but only because by the time we got around to sampling it it had already cooled down to the point that it was greasy. That was our mistake. In hindsight we should have ordered two dishes at a time to ensure they were eaten while still hot. I’ll have to try this dish again, while it’s hot, to be able to provide a fair review of it. The highlight of the meal, we both agreed, was the crispy duck spring roll. It was delicious. Crispy, crunchy shell all around. Quite a large portion as far as spring rolls go. The duck meat was tender and juicy, the vegetables and the sauce provided a taste sensation. I didn’t try any of the Pad Thai Prawn, my wife tried some of it and got the leftovers to takeaway. I can’t comment on that dish. Overall: We were both very full and satiated when we were done dining here. We felt that we would most likely return for another sitting one day. Very happy with all aspects of the experience. My recommendation: Try the Crispy Duck Spring Rolls – I’m confident you won’t be disappointed. Handy tip: If, like us, you’re going to try a sample of several different entrees, try ordering just one or two at a time, or ask for just a couple to be served at a time so they are fresh and hot to eat – don’t stockpile all of them at once like we did.

4 weeks ago

Clare M.

Auckland City

1

Grey Lynn

5 star rating
 04/07/2014

I have never written a review before but felt compelled after such a great curry last night. Absolutely delicious curry packed full of flavour and spice, tastes very authentic and they are reasonably priced, exactly what I’ve been hoping to find on my doorstep. No longer will I have to go to Sandringham to get a decent Indian meal. And to top it a lovely Indian lady came to deliver our meal with a smile!

4 weeks ago

Pamela

Auckland City

3

Auckland Central

2 star rating
 04/07/2014

Although the service at Katsura was very good, the dinner buffet was a great disappointment. Apart from the sashimi, the food was equivalent to that provided in food halls for less than $15 pp and was certainly not worth $78. The hot food was lukewarm. It would be helpful if the food trays were labelled.

4 weeks ago

Ken

Auckland City

1

Auckland Central

1 star rating
 04/07/2014

If I could give a ZERO I would, but one star is the minimum. 4 adults all from Auckland dine here on a Friday night in May, and what a mistake. This place (including food) is nothing authentic about Spanish, the service is shockingly SLOW + BAD and the overall experience was not worth paying for (neither retailer or with 50% off voucher). We purchased a grabone voucher worth $100 and our total bill came to $125 (paid extra $25). DRINKS 0/0 We started with a jug of Sangria ($40) and I am sorry I make better sangria at home. There was no more then 5 slices of lemon (no other fruits) and the drink is room temperture. The taste was bland and certainly nothing like a sangria, more like a watered-down red wine. Worse of all, it took a good 30-40 mins from we ordered with 1 reminder before it finally arrived. FOOD 0/0 Some tapas were ordered and took forever long for them to arrive, and when they did, they all look fairy HORRIFIED. Nothing authentic, tiny portion,pricy, average taste and ingredients were low quality. Chorizo sausage tapas – had no more then 5 tiny slices of meat, calarmares were and prawns were disappointment as they were frozen and portion were tiny. we had to order some bread to fill us up and ofcouse we had to remind the waiter the dishes that were missing. We didn’t bother with the dessert as it took nearly2 hours for the drinks and 4-5 tapas to arrive and finish. SERVICE 0/0 The girl who took our order did not write the order down, and of course she missed 2 dishes. She even left/walked-out the restaurant mid-way of our dinner (she walked out with her handbag and never return).The poor chef/cooks from downstairs have to cook and serve the customers, making them running up and down. When settling the bill in the end, 4 of us standing in front of the counter, the guy had no rush as he was busy doing something else. Nevertheless we lied about our experience when he asked as the final transaction was made, we just wanted to quickly get out!! Sorry Tasca Vulcan Lane, We will NOT return and will not recommend to anyone.

4 weeks ago

Sarah K.

Auckland City

1

Auckland Central

1 star rating
 04/07/2014

Went to this restaurant and it was extremely full. We considered waiting for the next available table and was about to wait outside, until one of the waiters rudely told us to go stand outside. Did not say please or tried to sound polite. Went back a few months later, ordered food and was told to pay immediately. Told the waiter I will not pay until the food arrives. Food came, went up to pay and the European guy rudely told us off and swore at us in Japanese to his co-workers. If you asked us nicely to pay before hand, we would. And don’t think we can’t understand you, we can and it is not how you treat customers. Their customer service was horrible and needs much improvement. Even if the food was good, with bad service they will not get regular customers.

4 weeks ago

Rod K.

Auckland City

32

Herne Bay

5 star rating
 03/07/2014

My wife and I having dined at some the best restaurants in NZ and ordering STEAK can honestly say that this was pure beef heaven! and by far the best we have EVER HAD! A perfectly cooked medium-rare and medium…. stunningly pink from corner to corner and that could be cut with little effort (like a hot knife through butter). The beef simply melted in your mouth and the side dishes (truffle chips, beetroot special and creamed corn) were simply divine, this is a steak cooked at its best and a culinary experience fit for the gods. Nothing short of world class and will DEFINITELY BE BACK!

4 weeks ago

Raffi R.

Auckland City

7

Auckland Central

3 star rating
 03/07/2014

Came here with a friend and value for money so not as great as what was on offer. Options where decent, but was expecting more based on what I’ve heard and read however the staff were very nice and attentive. In terms of food it was tasty, but the pork was very chewy and tough and ham had lots of fat on it. Chicken was a bit on the dry side but nice and had to wait at times for more to come out. Dessert was excellent. There was plenty of options on offer and was very delicious. It was a Wednesday night so not very busy which allowed easier movement around and food didn’t run out. I would visit again if price was lowered of food improved in terms of quality and variety

4 weeks ago

Rod K.

Auckland City

32

Grey Lynn

3 star rating
 03/07/2014

Pretty average, Chicken main was very small though cooked and tasted great. Duck risotto was a bit bland. Pizza was average. Prices were a little high for the quality

4 weeks ago

Sean A.

Auckland City

5

Parnell

5 star rating
 03/07/2014

I eat here at least once a week, the lamb is glorious and the value is great. one of the better kebab shops in Auckland. staff are friendly and premisis is tidy. if your looking for a cheap but tasty meal look no further.

4 weeks ago

Dave P.

Auckland City

1

Newmarket

5 star rating
 03/07/2014

Just wow. As visitors to Auckland, we were wandering Newmarket looking for somewhere to eat and the Hog heaven signage just drew us in. Once inside, we were greeted immediately by the friendly staff and the smokey smell was just divine. We ordered a pizza each, and were then told they were on special today, so we ordered another one to takeaway for tomorrows lunch. We were unaware that this was only the second day they have been open until we asked, which explained why the owners were over eager to see that we were having a good experience. The pizzas were delicious. We had to ask if they served desert, as there was no evidence of a dessert menu. Turns out, they havent been printed yet. The chocolate browny was also delicious. We have no hesitation at recommending this place to anyone. We hope to be back soon.

4 weeks ago

Tania

Auckland City

1

Eden Terrace

5 star rating
 03/07/2014

This is one of those rare places that does great food for adults and children alike. Don’t let the diversity of the menu fool you these people know what they are doing. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful and the food was perfectly delicious and reasonably priced to boot. My son’s were completely captivated by the Pirate themed d├ęcor which was a huge bonus. Everything we ordered was fresh and cooked with love, I highly recommend for starters the fresh spring roll (super yum), Japanese savoury pancake, edamame and Captain Willie’s eye ball which my son’s loved. For the main I had the Teriyaki Chicken, the chicken was tasty and tender served on a delicious rice cake with a lovely variety of cooked vegetables and salad. For dessert we had the best Paris-Brest that I have ever tasted, seriously! We will definitely be back.

4 weeks ago

Melody

Auckland City

1

Auckland Central

5 star rating
 03/07/2014

Extremely recommend this cafe! The moment my friend and I entered and saw the salad bar and cabinet food, we knew we’d love. We ordered the falafel pita pocket and tofu burger, both very delicious and arrived in good time! To end the meal we both tried the vegan chocolate cake and lemon ginger cake! Absolutely divine, so yum and a very very good size. Honestly can’t say more good things about this place, very pleased and will definitely be back again. Cheers for the filling, tasty and healthy meal!

4 weeks ago

Lorna T.

Auckland City

1

Ponsonby

5 star rating
 03/07/2014

What fantastic food! I have been curious about putting more raw food into my diet for awhile now and my visits to your cafe are inspiring. I think my favourite so far is the “Bird Bowl”…although I haven’t yet tried the Winter version of this. the mushrooms are really delicious. Your cold brewed coffee is fantastic…from one who normally only drinks decaf. It is really worth leaving some room for the wonderful vegan cheesecakes…yum. Everytime I have dined there (3 times now) I have felt replete for the whole afternoon. It does get very busy, so you often have to wait 15 -20 minutes for a table, but well worth the wait. Once or twice it has taken awhile to receive our food, but the staff have been extremely pleasant and happy to chat about the food when asked about it. It is reasonably expensive, but when you see the first class ingredients in the meal, the price is justified in my book. It is my favourite place to go and would be very happy to have it expand to the North Shore!

4 weeks ago

Lorraine

Auckland City

1

St Heliers

4 star rating
 03/07/2014

We dined at Annabelle’s last night. We were concerned having read the reviews just prior to leaving for the restaurant, so concerned that we rang first and expressed our concern. Anyway, it turned out fine. Food was good and we had a great night, the waiting staff were efficient, food arrived timely and the restaurant was full. Regulars there as was apparent by the amount of greeting and hugging going on from the maitre’d. We were even given hugs when we left! Very pleasant.

4 weeks ago

Blair L.

Auckland City

1

Kingsland

5 star rating
 03/07/2014

Portland house has been a regular stop for nearly two years and has become my local. To me it is the embodiment of kingsland; multi cultural, alternative, relaxed and friendly. Portland is the place to come wether it be for an after work drink, incredible food (try the buttermilk chicken!!), or to meet new people. There is no pretence here. I had one occasion where i was playing cards over a beer and a few random people asked to join in! Brilliant atmosphere. Totally worth a visit if you really want something more than just a pub experience. Big thumbs up!

‹‹ Previous12 ... 10111213141516 ... 17 18Next ››