MenuMania has been acquired by Zomato. Read more about it here.

We are hiring.

On a mobile device? Try our mobile site, optimized for faster browsing.

Green Parrot

3 star rating
27 reviews

Cuisine: New Zealand, American (Traditional), European, Greek

16 Taranaki St
Wellington Central
Wellington City
04-384 6080
 

Hours:

  • Mon – Thu 5:00pm – 0:00am
  • Fri – Sat 5:00pm – 2:00am
  • Sun 5:00pm – 10:00pm
  • Payment Types: EFTPOS, Visa, MasterCard, AMEX, Diners
  • Price Range: Spendy, $25 - $35
  • Seating for: 70
  • Parking: Free Off-Street, Free On-Street
You Might Also Consider MenuMania Ad
Ti Kouka Cafe
4_half star rating
 24 reviews

Lucas P. said: "I came in last Saturday for the WOAP menu and it was delicious. When I am in the CBD I ALWAYS go to Ti Kouka. I've been there at least 15…"   read more »

27 Reviews for Green Parrot

maria

3

2nd July 2013
5 star rating
we having been going to green parrot for 24 years and have always been made welcome and the food is always great, and even the chefs are very cool as well, we are off to the green parrot again very soon yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm xx

Visited August 2012

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

lyn

6

11th May 2013
3 star rating
We had friends from overseas staying and they had heard about the Green Parrot. I hadn’t actually been there since the 80′s so I was keen to go. Food was average nothing to write home about. My steak was a little tough and the salad was bland. I too had heard good things about the place but I was struggling to find anything good about our meals. The staff on the other hand were really nice to us.

Visited January 2013

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

shelly

1

21st March 2013
1 star rating
Firstly I want to say the waitress we had was amazing, chatty and just generally very nice however, the food was well below average. Particularly the Greek salad, too oily, tasted terrible and a bad blend of greens, tomato’s etc. Just a let down especially since we had heard such good things, won’t be going there again.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

1st February 2013
1 star rating
Staff were friendly, food was yuck and expensive.
They bring out white bread and butter on arrival lol.
The steak was tough as old boot, the salad was oily.
Gordon Ramsay needs to make over this place.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Rex S.

1

7th January 2013
5 star rating
I went to the Green Parrot start of last year and enjoyed it so much that I recommended to my work as a place for our mid year work function. Sure enough we went there and the service was awesome, the food was devine, and the atmosphere was great!! Even though there was 20 odd of us there was no mix up in the orders, they all arrived in concession and the beers never ran out. And the bread, it’s complimentary so why complain!! Top Place!!

Visited July 2012

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

7th January 2013
4 star rating
I had visited the Green Parrot last Saturday with 4 friends and found the experience great fun we hadn’t,t had the grumpy staff or anything wrong with the meals , which were sizable and cooked to our different tastes and they hit on just right for all 5 of our group all the meals arrived together or within 2 or three minutes.

The restaurant had about 5 other people when we arrived at 6.30pm but when we left 8.00pm only 1 table was unoccupied.

Sorry to hear others didn’t have a very good experience will come back again .

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

11th October 2012
1 star rating
I went to green parrot the other night with my partner and his family. It is an old fashioned place which is ok. There is a lot of steak to choose from on the menu which is off putting. The waitress was rude and condescending. We ordered and waited at least 45 mins for our dinner, when it did come we got 3 meals first and then the final 2 meals 10 mins later. The salad was nice but the steak was burnt on the outside and very hard to cut. For the mean that I got I thought it was very over priced. I could have cooked it myself at home. I would not go to this restaurant again.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

4th March 2012
3 star rating
Took awhile (45min) for food to arrive although it was a busy night, so I understand, and conversation was flowing so time flew by. But I noticed group of people who arrived after us were eating before us. Great food and overall for the size of the dish it was affordable. It’s more of a once a month or special-occasion-only type restaurant, not something to dine at weekly. I was satisfied at the end of the night, went for a walk to Kaffee Eis for dessert.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Jared

10

3rd December 2011
2 star rating
Like your nana they serve it while it’s hot. Sadly, unless you are over 70 or dining with your nana you will feel out of place.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

1st October 2011
5 star rating
The green parrot is AMAZING! The food is to die for, juicy meats the salads are so fresh, its such simple food that you could produce at home but somehow they make it so much better. For all those that don’t understand their tradition about the plain white bread and butter and HUGE meals with chips and salads then there no point reviewing!. Every time this place leaves me full and completely satisfied. Well done Jim, Kosta and Chris. Best of luck!

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Mark R.

38

19th August 2011
3 star rating
Meal was ok. Left feeling it could have been so much more. Will go back and give them another try.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Lhi T.

2

20th July 2011
1 star rating
Visited in May 2011.

I have always loved the food and friendly service for the 5 or 6 times I visit per year.

The last time I visited the pork chops were tough and fatter. I advised one of the owners who offered no apology and blamed his butcher. No discount offered either for something I didn’t eat. So i felt I was charged for something I didn’t have.

I’m sure this was a one off situation but was disappointed by the response I got when i gave the feedback.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

15th May 2011
1 star rating
Dined on Monday 9th May ordered sirloin steak medium rare, if my wife served me such a tough piece of over cooked meat I wouldn’t even feed to my dog. Ordered a beer was served in a bottle ,no glass offered. Very disappointing, still hungry after meal and stopped at maccas over the road as most of the food served was at burger bar level. would not recommend.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

18th April 2011
5 star rating
I had a steak from the which the likes I have not seen, it was a huge T bone! I b.y.o.ed some red wine and I’m telling you it was indulgence. I recommend a big group of friends because it takes a while to cook a dinosaur

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Ffen

3

12th March 2011
5 star rating
I’m a foodie.

Give me quail stuffed with lamb sweetbreads and a trumpette mushroom sauce and I’m yours for life….

BUT! The Parrot is my bolt-hole, my sanctuary, my grounding place.

Everything is fried, grilled and served with salad and chips and is just superb!

If you’re gonna be shocked by being served sliced white bread then go eat somewhere else! This is real kiwi grub so pack up your hootey-tootey 90′s pretentions and get thee hence!

The wine selection is basic – who cares? This is the nature of the beast!

The waiting staff is usually filled by itinerant students – frankly, I’ve never seen a waiter last more then three months but dammit this is the Parrot! It’s iconic – and, more important, the food is good!

Deep fried scallops that are juicy with a crisp covering; pork chops that are thick, well cooked and juicy; flounder that melts in the mouth; thick steaks that are cooked superbly ….

The salads – mixed lettuce, coleslaw and potato – that accompany each dish are fresh and wonderful. The chips are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside – ideal chips!

I’ve never eaten an entire meal – they’re HUGE!

Go the the Parrot!!!!!

I love this place!

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Jenkz

2

1st February 2011
2 star rating
The night of Joe Crocker & George Thorogood concert in Wn, (23/1/2011), starting at 7:30pm my friend choose the Green Parrot as it was in our sight I’ve never been there so GP it was to dine b4 heading to the concert, 6:20pm orders were taken,for me only 2 vegetarian dish to choose from, omelet or Greek Salad, I opt for salad, my friend ordered wiener schnitzel. We were about to scale the menu for bread when waitress said she’ll bring bread out, gosh we didn’t expect “slice bread” 6:55pm still waiting for our meals, 6:10pm I notice our plates was put on the service bench, ignored by a waitress, I attempt to collect myself as I was thinking of my friends meal getting cold, he suggest not to…My friend is not fuzz on where he goes for meals..but to hear his comments, THUMBS DOWN from both of us…best thing we enjoyed that night was the concert, even though we got there 4mins late…”Get a Hair cut, get a real job” :))

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

25th July 2010
3 star rating
We dined at this restaurant on Sat 24 July 2010,the staff were friendly. Was a bit disappointed with been given 4 slices of white bread with butter which was so hard you could not even spread it. Our mains were nice but the food went cold quite quickly because the plates were cold. My suggestion is not white sliced bread but maybe a warm small loaf with spreadable butter, and of course WARM PLATES.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

tracy

1

5th May 2010
5 star rating
love love LOVE the parrot! an icon with great food. yeah, ok its no logan brown – which is why i eat at the parrot instead!

the schnitzel is the best in town. the steak is amazing (when you can finish it! the portions are so huge!)

heres to another 80 years of yummy! :)

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

22nd March 2010
5 star rating
The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful, well priced, well cooked, tasty and down to earth. VERY LARGE portions, we are big eaters and had to ask for a take away container! Would recommend Green Parrot to anyone who is looking for decent food at a decent price. Will definitely be going back.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

19th February 2010
1 star rating
We the Managers of Quest on Johnston, 35 Johnston Street, Wellington City.
We dined there with our family from Hamilton and Ashburton – 19th February 2010
waited a long time, meal served and I was missed out, waitress excuse – oh I forgot you.
Definitely not a restaurant we would recommend to our guests

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Edward

1

26th September 2009
1 star rating
The worst restaurant in Wellington. Do not go to this restaurant.

Had to wait over an hour for our meals to arrive and this was only after I went up to the counter to complain about the long wait. The manager replied, “are you in a hurry”, which I thought was extremely rude. It turned out the waitress had lost the order, it was still another 30 minutes until we got our meal.

The food was definitely not worth the wait. Under cooked and soggy chips. I think we were well and truely ripped off paying around $25 per meal.

When I phoned to complain the next day the manager was rude and arrogant and did not want to listen to my complaint.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

3rd August 2009
5 star rating
I don’t reside in Wellington, but I went to the Green Parrot Cafe for a T Bone Steak last Friday night. I hadn’t been to the Parrot in about seven years. But it hasn’t changed still the best T Bone in NZ yet.
Angelo & Jimmy haven’t lost their touch

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

paul

5

24th July 2009
1 star rating
took out of town visitors to the green parrot for dinner about 3 weeks ago.

we thought the bread and butter was a nice kitsch touch although with the number of great bakery’s in wellington i don’t understand why they would choose pams budget sandwich slice?

a few items on the menu were not available for that evening, and once we had ordered it did take a good 50mins for the food to arrive at our table.

they waiter gave my partner pork instead of the lamb she had ordered, whilst my friends fathers ordered had been forgotten altogether. they did however offer us a free drink for the inconvenience.

the servings were big but not fancy. the meat was fatty and the salads were over priced for what was offered! if you are going to charge $30 for a sirlion, something other than iceberg lettuce to accompany it would be nice.

by the time we came to pay the bill we felt a little ripped off. $87 for two meals and three beers! at this cost we would have been happier and more statisfied to go to the Matterhorn!

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

19th July 2009
1 star rating
Took my wife and friend & his wife to for our 15 years wedding anniversary dinner. Waited for more than an hour. Order soup – didn’t arrive. Lots of people waiting and waiting. Ask a waitress to bring the soup but brought it without bread. Didn’t listen to what I said. When food arrived it was okay but we don’t go to restaurant to wait more than one hour to have food. We were starving so we could have eaten rubber.. so I am not sure it was good or not but needed food anyway. When I went to the counter, the guy asked my feedback I complained and he listened and didn’t do anything. I said him I am not happy so I am not paying for the soups. He reluctantly agreed. Poor service and they don’t care about customers. If you care about customers how come they don’t take your order and when they do, food takes (ACTUALLY!!!) one hour to deliver…… Very very very disappointed. I think the owner should think and rethink about the quality of service… Please don’t go there so they learn from it. If we still go there even though the service is BAD the owner think “what the heck, food is still fantastic and they are willing to wait and people keep coming back so why do I care? Should be out of the business of restaurant and serve food at home for friends…

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Char

1

24th May 2009
1 star rating
I give this place a ZERO! We waiting a 40 mins for a table (even though there were empty tables for room bookings). The food was slapped on and 2 steak dishes were under cooked. When asked “how was your meal?” at the cash counter after honestly giving feed back one of the brothers (the restaurant is family owned) was RUDE, RUDE, RUDE! We wondered why he asked for feedback when he couldn’t take constructive criticism to improve food and service. WE WILL NEVER!!!! go back there. If you go your a fool!

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

chanel

1

14th May 2009
1 star rating
Service was crap, food was crap, cold, rushed and manager well did not even want to hear our feedback VERY RUDE!!!!

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

Lee

1

2nd December 2008
5 star rating
My workmates and I love going to the Green Parrot Cafe as the food is always great. The atmosphere is relaxed which allows people from all walks of life including families to go.

Bookmark    Send to a Friend

1 to 27 of 27 (1 Filtered)

Did you eat at this restaurant? Have an opinion to share?

Write a Review